Friday@GreenMan

Only a tiny handful of people started Friday at Green Man the way I started it. An Indian massage at Nature Nurture! My shoulders and back regularly need attention as I spend far too much time hunched over a computer. Sleeping on the ground last night has not helped either. My masseur is Louise and she does a fantastic job of loosening the tight knots of muscle that are screaming out for attention.

Gino and I meet at The Courtyard for a lunchtime ale and then it is time to find some food. Today we both decide to try a venison burger from the Welsh Venison Centre. It is a fantastic burger, the venison easily matching the very best beef, and served with crispy wedges that deserve an award in their own right. Wow!

Now, after a couple of ales and the venison, we are in some sort of dream world. It is at this point that we meet Miss Dewey Decimal and Miss Biblio Techy of the Library of Imagined Genes. They start a bizarre otherworldly process by asking us to choose a character from a novel. Half an hour of our lives then passes in an episode that could slip neatly into the imaginary world of Lewis Carroll. Fitting really.

P1000658a

Music is the most important element of any day at Green Man…but, I’m not there yet. Next, I attend a talk by Russell Savory – a wildlife photographer and filmmaker. Most people would recognise his work from SpringWatch – a great deal of the footage on barn owls, stoats and water voles is the result of his patience and skill. Did I learn anything? Yes – I am simply not prepared to do what he does in order to get the pictures he gets!

I stop by at the Far Out stage to listen to some Kamasi Washington – jazz saxophone completely unbridled by convention. Then some Sam Green & the Midnight Heist at Chai Wallahs. Gino & I watch the first half of Couple in a Hole at the Cinedrome – but that is too strange a film even for me. We have a beer break and then Gino returns to watch how the intriguing film plot plays out.

P1000670a

I go to the Mountain Stage and catch the second half of Jason Isbell – it is sadly reminiscent of Bryan Adams and I find it boring. However, next on stage is White Denim and they can cover almost every musical genre. Each track seems to have hints of something that has gone before – but without sounding like parody. A touch of Jethro Tull here and then a shimmering sliver of the Temptations. Now I’m having a good time!

P1000679a

I reconnect with Gino at Chai Wallahs and then with LN, Frida, Eskimoh and the lovely Finn. We all dance, some more wildly than others, to the fantastic two-tone beat of Chainska Brassica. What a day!

Musical Highlight: White Denim

Festival Highlight: Tough to choose today, I loved Louise’s massage, the venison burger and White Denim but…. I think I am going to choose late night dancing to high quality ska with my fabulous friends.

P1000685a

Published by

WadeandRock

Wade and Rock are a UK based couple who love good food and wildlife and love travelling to find it. Wade does most, but not all, of the writing and the photography. Rock shares the eating experience and tells Wade when planned posts fall short on sense or style or taste. In the opinion of Wade (and many of our friends) she is also a fabulous baker. WadeandRockandFood mainly consists of reviews of restaurants and pubs we have recently visited. WadeandRockandWildlife and WadeandRockandPlaces are mostly photoblogs.

Leave a Reply

