Saturday@Green Man

After quite a considerable amount of beer and two nights sleeping on uneven ground, I really need a healthier start today. I take matters into my own hands by slow cooking porridge and serving it with honey and banana to Gino and Frida. I make far too much porridge and then eat too much of it – nevertheless, this still feels like a good start to the day.

I stop by the North Somerset pop-up Butterfly House to look at some brilliantly colourful South American butterflies en route to meeting Gino at Poco for coffee. The coffee is excellent. Healthy breakfast, great coffee, what else do I need?….a hot shower. I trek down to Nature Nurture and pay for unlimited hot water and access to a proper changing room and shower cubicle. Now, I almost feel human again. Lunch is healthy pasta & pesto with Gino, Eskimoh and Frida.

It must be time to start undoing all this good work…..so I start by consuming a fair amount of red wine with lunch.

The rain has been falling for most of the last two days and we head off on a muddy journey towards a wet Walled Garden to see B.C. Camplight. I love some of their music and they play a couple of my favourite tracks but, overall, I’m a little disappointed. Over to the Mountain Stage where I really enjoy the folksy music (and dancing) of the Unthanks. They are followed by Cate Le Bon who is really good – though the jangly guitar started to grate after a while.   Meanwhile, LN has brought out her furry snake on a stick….ready for the late evening action.

P1000693a

I see Magnetic North in the Walled Garden and Laura Marling on the Mountain Stage but the highlight of the day arrives at Far Out with Jagwar Ma.  I was hoping they would satisfy my need for some dub – but, if they played anything from their dub EP, I missed it. Instead they near enough create the feel of a warehouse rave with their psychedelic dance beats – it is extraordinary and the whole audience seem to be loving it!.  Gino and I are towards the back of the crowd but ahead of us, rising above the centre of the huge dancing mass, we can see….. a furry snake on a stick!    

I join Gino, LN & Frida in the Fresco Disco @ Round the Twist. After an evening of jumping around to Jagwar Ma and then several very long energetic dance numbers, I am exhausted. I finally drag my tired body back to the tent in the early hours.  I enjoyed a healthy start to the day but everything went seriously downhill after lunch – and I enjoyed that even more!

Musical highlight: Jagwar Ma

Festival highlight: It has taken three days but…. now I’m really feeling as though I’m in the festival groove

Published by

WadeandRock

Wade and Rock are a UK based couple who love good food and wildlife and love travelling to find it. Wade does most, but not all, of the writing and the photography. Rock shares the eating experience and tells Wade when planned posts fall short on sense or style or taste. In the opinion of Wade (and many of our friends) she is also a fabulous baker. WadeandRockandFood mainly consists of reviews of restaurants and pubs we have recently visited. WadeandRockandWildlife and WadeandRockandPlaces are mostly photoblogs.

Leave a Reply

